El Rey Louis Dandy

My husband’s dog is a fancy-pants. His name is literally “The King Louis Dandy” (though he allows us plebeians to call him simply Rey). His bed is embroidered with his name. My husband has claimed his parents feed Rey better than they do him. Rey gets a treat whenever he goes outside, whether he does his business or not.

I first met The King when my husband and I were early in our dating relationship, after his parents dropped Rey off at JMU before leaving for vacation. Rey hid most of the time in my husband’s room, refusing to be coaxed out by his roommates and friends (one of whom chased poor Rey around the living room yelling “I wanna pet him!”). He whined almost constantly and was basically a pain in the neck for about a week. BUT by the end of that time, Rey and I were best friends. He’d make my husband wait at the foot of the stairs up to my apartment until I was out of sight. As the years progressed, he’d snuggle up to me on the couch or roll to expose his belly, because he knew I’d give him belly rubs all day long.

Rey 2
“Why are you not rubbing my belly, peasant?”

I love the story of how my husband convinced his parents to get him a dog. At all of eleven  years old, he wrote up a contract promising to care for a dog and had his (lawyer) parents review and sign it. Of course, as it always happens with a kid’s first dog, his parents ended up taking over care of Rey, anyway.

Still, they are best friends.IMG_3387

Rey has been a part of their family for 15 years. He’s ancient. He’s developed health issues and has lost his sight, but it hasn’t slowed him down too much. Except that he likes to sleep more and his little, old legs don’t move quite so fast as they used to. And sometimes he gets a little confused. He still begs for food, but sometimes he begs a lamp instead of a person, and sometimes he begs when no one is eating anything.

Even in his old age, though, he still knows how to casually model on the beach. img_0677

Because he is the king. Long may he reign.

Author: ramblingsofawildcard

Annie is a writer with a day job. She lives in Northern Virginia with her husband and no pets (but only because their apartment can’t handle a puppy and he’s allergic to cats). She enjoys good Tequila, crappy mac ‘n’ cheese, and she will never say no to ice cream.

One thought on “El Rey Louis Dandy”

Leave a Reply

