WexTexMex Soup

So I know it’s been a little while since I’ve written. Sorry about that; I’ve been busy with work and classes and now that football season is officially here, my fantasy team is pretty all-consuming (but I’m working on being less obsessive about it).

I’ve been trying to get creative in the kitchen and try out new recipes (I have way too many recipe boards on Pinterest). I also have a picky eater with a sensitive stomach in my home, so I have to be careful about what ingredients I use. I keep scrolling through my different pins for pasta dishes and chicken dishes and steak recipes, trying to find something that inspires me each day.

Yesterday was the first sort-of fall rainy day of the season. It was still a warm rain, but the air was just chilly enough to remind me that winter is coming (said in the ominous voice of Ned Stark — RIP). It was gray and overcast and wet, and from the lobby of my building, it looked like a day for comfort food.

It looked like a day for soup.

I began combing through my Soups, Stews, and Chili board on Pinterest, hoping to find something savory that could be prepared in less than an hour that could also be filling enough on its own. I came up with two options to present to my husband: chickpea kale soup (minus the kale because we don’t have any and my goal was not to go to the store), or 8 can taco soup.

My husband was skeptical but opted for the taco soup (original recipe found here). I started digging through the pantry and discovered I did not have 8 cans of appropriate ingredients. What I did have was a healthy imagination and a surprisingly helpful husband, so we made it work.

The recipe for WexTexMex Soup is as follows (this made about 6 servings):

1 can – Petite Diced Tomatoes, drained

1 can – Black Beans, drained and rinsed

1 can – Cannellini Beans, drained and rinsed

1 can – Cream of Chicken Soup

1 can – Red Enchilada Sauce

1 can – Water

Several dashes of Valentina Mexican Hot Sauce

1/2 packet of Taco Seasoning

~2 shots of Bourbon Whiskey (this was my husbands idea and I couldn’t be more impressed with it. The whiskey really pulled the flavors together nicely)

Dump all the ingredients in a pot and heat through. Easy as that! We also made rice separately and added it in, but you could easily add another cup of water and a cup of rice to the pot.

Author: ramblingsofawildcard

Annie is a writer with a day job. She lives in Saint Louis with her husband, and enjoys good Tequila, crappy mac ‘n’ cheese, and she will never say no to ice cream.

One thought on “WexTexMex Soup”

  1. Sounds gorgeous, my type of recipe, must be a family trait, substituting all sorts. I do it all the time, it is amazing what goes together and tastes great. I do it, especially with the slow cooker meals, as I say “shove it all in and see what it tastes like” never had a fail yet xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment